Decolonial Research Methods, Online Seminar Series (October-December 2021), organised by Dr Leon Moosavi

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Overview:

“While the popularisation of a coherent decolonial paradigm may be one of the most significant developments within academia in recent years, there has not been enough focus on the implications of this ‘decolonial turn’ for research methods and methodologies. In this webinar series, eminent decolonial experts will reflect on some of the key issues relating to the coloniality/decoloniality of academic research methods and methodologies. This webinar series will prompt academic researchers to explore the ways in which academic research may either reinforce or dislodge colonial discourses.”

Timetable of contributing scholars:

Professor Vineeta Sinha (National University of Singapore)
26th October 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Professor Linda T. Smith (Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi)
2nd November 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 03:00 ~ Cape Town: 08:00 ~ Tehran: 9:30 ~ Jakarta: 13:00

Professor Raewyn Connell (University of Sydney)
9th November 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 04:00 ~ Cape Town: 09:00 ~ Tehran: 10:30 ~ Jakarta: 14:00

Professor Walter Mignolo (Duke University)
23rd November 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 11:00 ~ Cape Town: 16:00 ~ Tehran: 17:30 ~ Jakarta: 21:00

Professor Sujata Patel (Umeå University)
30th November 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Professor Jeong-Eun Rhee (Long Island University)
7th December 2021
Rio de Janeiro: 09:00 ~ Cape Town: 14:00 ~ Tehran: 15:30 ~ Jakarta: 19:00

The webinar series has been organised by Dr Leon Moosavi, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology at the University of Liverpool and Director of the University of Liverpool in Singapore.

The webinar series has been funded by the National Centre for Research Methods (UK).

Registration:

Please register for the webinar series via the following link to the NCRM/University of Liverpool Eventbrite page:
https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/decolonial-research-methods-webinar-series-tickets-175333205337.
Those who cannot attend all of the webinars are welcome to just attend the ones that they can make. The webinars will be held on Zoom. Non-academics and academics from all disciplines are welcome to attend. Recordings of some parts of the webinars will be shared with all of those who register after the webinar series has concluded.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: